I was interviewed by Sadie and Toby Basset!

Character Interview & Giveaway ~ George the Basset Hound ~ George Knows by Mindy Mymudes

Character Interview & Giveaway ~ George the Basset Hound ~ George Knows by Mindy Mymudes

DEC 05

Sadie and Toby

Sadie (in front) and Toby

Sadie: Hi! Hi! HI HI HI HI!!!!!

Toby: AHROOoooOOOooo! Sadie! Keep it down! You don’t want Mommy to see that we swiped her laptop do you?

Sadie: Nooooo! *lowers head but gives puppy eyes* Can I tell everyone what we’re doing today?

Toby: *Giving Sadie a little nuzzle* Yep, go ahead…the coast is clear for now.

Sadie: Hi everybody!!! We know that you’re used to Mommy and Cheshire…

Toby interrupts: You all do know that Cheshire isn’t real right? WE’RE the REAL furbabies!

Sadie: TOBY! I think everyone knows that! Now, let me explain what’s going on. Where was I? Oh, yeah…so we found out that there’s a Basset Hound, George, that has his very own book coming out. It’s called George Knows. Since George is a Basset and we’re Bassets, we thought we would invite him over so he could tell us all about it….well and we might play some too…or nap…a nap is always good.

*There’s a scratch at the door*

Toby: I bet that’s George. Come on Sadie, let’s go let him in!

*Toby and Sadie open the door to find a handsome Basset…there may be a little rear end sniffing*

Sadie: Come on George! Do you want something to drink? We’ve got some nice fresh water and there’s some treats we’ve been saving…and you know a puppy saving snacks is HARD… if you want a little snack.

*The three Bassets grab a snack and head off to the circle of dog beds, turning a circle three times before laying down*

Toby: Would you tell us a little about yourself?

George from George Knows

George from George Knows

George: *Cocks his head and looks at his hosts. He bays his approval.* I’m a perfect designed familiar. As Basset Hounds, you know we’re heads and paws over all other creatures. When it was time for Karly, my Girlpup, to learn about witchcraft, Auntie Heather knew she had to find the best partner for her. She found me and it’s my job to protect and teach my Girlpup. You know how difficult it is to train your Peep, right? Imagine training a young witch. *Shakes head, ears flap over one eye, then the other*

I bet you don’t know why you turn three times. Regular dogs have forgotten. It’s a powerful charm to protect dogs in their sleep. All animals have some magic, you know.

Sadie: Mommy always asks this question…What can we expect from George Knows?

George: I single-pawly solve a murder mystery and save the day from a Bad Thing!

See, the woods next to the park is going to be dug up by big truck things and turned into more dens. That’s wrong! Peeps got enough dens—they don’t need to tear up the woods. It is a place of strong power and healing magic. I found Peep’s bones and smelltaste a dangerous Bad Thing. Me, Karly, and Auntie Heather have to find and get rid of the Monster, save the woods, and figure out who the bones I found belong to.

It is hard work, and I missed a lot of supper times. Um. It’s only polite to have snacks. I see crumbs on the floor, that’s just rude.

Sadie with a furious whisper to Toby: Where did the snacks go? *Toby just gulps*

Sadie: Would you tell us who is part of your pack?

George: I’m Alpha, of course. The  rest of the pack is made up of of Peeps, Packdad, Packmom, Karly, my Girlpup/witch in training, Joey, her brother, PITA Boypup, and puppygirl Tillie.

Toby: You know, it’s been so hard getting Mommy trained (and she still thinks that cushion on the couch is hers not mine!) did you have a tough time training your girlpup, Karly?

George: You have no idea. She’s in that awkward stage, all hormones and smelltasting like chemicals. She doesn’t want to listen or use my senses like a proper witch. She’s learning, but I can’t wait for her to grow past it. I understand Girlpups don’t get their brains from the brown truck until they’re 20 or so. My job will be done by then, another familiar will be in charge. It’s my duty to leave the best witch I can to their paws. I hope they aren’t wings. You never know what kind of familiar a witch will grow into, you know.

Sadie: Did you have a favorite adventure in George Knows? Was there something you had to do that was really scary?

George: My favorite adventure was finding Joey and saving him from the Horrible Hodag. I’m not afraid of anything, I’m a basset hound. But I didn’t like finding Peep’s bones. You wouldn’t either. I held them in my mouth!

Best Friends

Best Friends

Toby: Mommy likes to act like Packleader. Do you have problems with your peeps thinking that they’re in charge too?

George: No. They clean up after me. They treat my poo like it’s a treasure and put it in bags. They hunt and bring me food. They provide me comfy spots to sleep. I do my job, hunting killer squirrels and rabbits and other monsters, teaching important things and doing magic. My drool is very powerful stuff.

Sadie: Can you teach us how to be familiars? Is it hard…or will it cut into naptime?

George: *Nose in air.* Familiars are born that way and placed in the correct homes. Is your Packmom a born witch? Were you born knowing everything? *Smelltastes.* No? I didn’t think so.

Sadie: That’s ok *her own nose in air* Mommy says I’m an excellent cuddler. Who needs anything else?

Toby: Are we going to get to read more of your adventures? Sadie: Oh or Tillie’s? How come Tillie didn’t come over?

George: Tillie is in her crate. Joey is in school and she gets into trouble. I adore her, but sometimes she can be a pest. Do you see what she’s done to my ears? *Tilts head to side to show the assorted puppy-punctures.* Puppygirls are cute, but I can’t wait until she’s a little older.

We’ve been dealing with ghosts lately, so I’m going to have to get the Lady With the Fingers back to her computer. She’s been doing a lot of Re-search lately. I don’t think she searched the first time, though.

And now for some rapid-fire questions:

  1. Favorite treat? Tuna Fudge. Um. No. Liver Brownies. I mean…Pig’s Ears. ArroooOooo, I CAN’T Choose! ArooOooo….what do I smelltaste? You HAVE SNICKERDOODLES! I want some! *Puts nose to ground and snuffles for cookies. Finds some on a table behind Toby, pushes table and plate clatters down.* ALL TREATS are favorite. *Crunch*. Sadie: Toby! Don’t hog the treats!
  2. Dog bed or couch? They are the same thing.
  3. Favorite toy? Tomatoes. First they are balls, then they smoosh and you can eat them. When I’m done, I cuddle with Karly and wipe my muzzle off on her pants. She appreciates it when I snuggle with her.
  4. Walk or laying in a sunbeam? Sunbeam. And with Tillie hogging them, there are never enough of them. I’ll walk for the important stuff. Search and Recovery of Joey, my Boypup. Teaching Karly about important plants. Finding killer squirrels, rabbits, and Hodag-dragons.
  5. What would be a fun day for you and Karly? Any day I’m with her out in the woods, teaching her the important things a witch needs to learn.

Toby: Thanks for coming to see us George! We had a good time and maybe next time there will be more snacks!

Sadie: Bye-bye George!

 

George KnowsGeorge Knows

Author: Mindy Mymudes

Publisher: Muse It Up Publishing

Published: December 6, 2013

 

An egotistical magical basset hound named George believes it’s his duty to train and protect his 12-year-old Girlpup, a greenwitch named Karly. He and his Girlpup, must solve a murder as well as save their park from being developed. George is the perfectly designed familiar for the job.

 

Toby: George Knows is the perfect holiday gift for your favorite Girlpup or Boypup and while George is listed as MidGrade, beta adult readers are still laughing.

 

Available for pre-order at (and 20% off until 12/6/13):

Amazon Muse It Up

 

George Knows will also be available at:

Barnes & Noble

Omnilit

Bookstrand – Mainstream

Kobo

Sony e-Reader Store

Diesel E-books

Smashwords

Wheelers ePlatform for New Zealand/Australia/Pacifica (Hawaii,Fiji, etc.) & Maori

 

Take a peek:

I continue to scrape my claws into the damp ground, searching for more smelltastes and listening for my Girlpup. She’s panting like it’s a hot day. At least she’s catching up. I am satisfied she’s okay, and dig like a badger with my wonderful big paws and claws, the ideal excavation tools. I wish I was digging up the den of a rabbit. I slow to sniff.

No.

There’s no rabbit here.

Something different’s calling me.

What the heck is it?

Dirt and roots pile up behind me, and my rear is now higher than my front as I dig. I scrape against rocks and try to push them away. They aren’t rocks—too long and thin. I wrap my jaws around one and toss it with a headshake out of the hole. I find another and do the same thing, until there is a pile of buff-colored things that look like bleached driftwood.

 

More about Mindy:

Mindy MymudesMindy Mymudes runs with the Muddy Paws Pack, English Springer Spaniels, in Milwaukee, WI. She insists she is alpha, even as the dogs walk all over her. She hunts, cleans the den and keeps them entertained. When she can escape the pack, she enjoys digging in dirt, listening to audiobooks, and weaving the antics of the pack into stories. The alpha male, Tall Dude, just shakes his head and stays out of the way.

 

Connect with Mindy & George:

Website Facebook Twitter George’s Email

 

Giveaway

 

George, Toby, and Sadie have a very special giveaway for you too. Goodies for doggies and their Peeps. A duck stick, a bag of Lindt truffles and a snake stuffie.

 

George Knows Giveaway

 

Sadie: Ohh stuffie! Can I play?
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share Me:

Like this:

10 comments

  1. jovialvampyre

    Posted on December 5, 2013

    I just got a kitten. It’s been years since we lost our other fur babies so it’s been a re-learning experience :) .

    • Mad Hatter Reads

      Posted on December 5, 2013

      Aww! I have a cat too, but she’s all grown up now. There’s just something special about little kittens and puppies. I just have to cuddle…at least until 3:00 in the morning when they decide it’s time to play and bite my toes. LOL

  2. I’m a dog person and absolutely love it when other’s give them a voice in their books; only someone who has furry babies themselves can fully appreciate canine humour IMO.

    • Mad Hatter Reads

      Posted on December 5, 2013

      I completely agree Carmel. I’m such a furry animal lover…no offense to the feathery or scaly creatures out there, but cuddling with them is not the same! LOL! I LOVE books that give animals a voice…especially since (as you can tell) my babies talk to me all the time :D

  3. Carole

    Posted on December 5, 2013

    Congrats on your book release, Mud. I wish you great success.

    ~~ Snarky Grimlet

    • Mad Hatter Reads

      Posted on December 5, 2013

      So excited for our very own Mud! She’s worked so hard on George and I’m wishing her great success as well :)

  4. OMG – this is the cutest interview!! Who wouldn’t want to read George Knows?!? ;) Thanks for letting Sadie and Toby take over for you, Traci. They’ve obviously paid close attention to how Mommy does things…smart doggies! And they’re so darn cute! They did a fantastic job of interviewing George.

    • Mad Hatter Reads

      Posted on December 5, 2013

      So glad you enjoyed the interview Brandee! The pups were super excited to do it and had so much fun with George. Of course, now they’re trying to convince me that they need a regular post LOL.

  5. I just got home, I am really active in dog sports, so I spent most of the day helping out at an agility trial. All this attention is giving George a BIG head. Not that it wasn’t in the first place, he is perfect after all! I just discovered that George is number 6 of 100 paid Children’s dog books. He says of course, but doesn’t understand why he isn’t number one. And does he get liver brownies? Thanks everyone and good luck winning the stuff! It even has George Magic Drool on it!

    • Mad Hatter Reads

      Posted on December 5, 2013

      SOOOO excited for you and George. #6 is awesome and George definitely should celebrate with some liver brownies :D

Leave a Reply

